Back to Blog

TT22: New Series: How To Apply The 8 Limbs of Yoga To Your Practice & Teaching

8 limbs of yoga yoga teacher training

Join the free Quietmind Community at

Today begins a new series on applying the 8 limbs of yoga to practicing and teaching yoga. Each week I will cover a new aspect of the 8 limbs from the Yamas and Niyamas to Samadhi.

In this episode I will give an overview of the 8 limbs of yoga, their origins and different interpretations of how you can apply them to your yoga practice and teaching. I’ll also share a helpful memorization trick that I’ve used to remember the 10 Yamas and Niyamas.

This is a solid foundation for yoga philosophy and applying yoga to all areas of life outside of practice. We’ll discuss the overview of the 8 Limbs and touch on Yamas (Don’ts), Niyamas (Dos), Asana, Pranayama, Pratiyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

If you want to deepen your practice more, join the Quietmind Yoga Membership for weekly live classes, weekly mini workshops and 1-1 feedback at

Thanks for listening!

Free Guide

Get the free 13 Essential Cues guide to deepen your yoga practice.